ANGELA DE LA AGUA NEWS

Screen Shot 2014-11-17 at 5.12.59 PM

From our good friend and neighbor Angela de la Agua:

I am so blessed and so thrilled to finally unveil what I’ve been working on for many Moons. My new photography website WWW.ANGELADELAAGUA.COM is up and running, and even more exciting, I have released my first book of photography!

The creation of my book, Water in the Desert, was truly a dream come true for me. I have always believed my photos would be best communicated through the book format. I was always intrigued by the possibilities of how my photos relate with each other, how they sit alongside one another. What stories would they tell together, I often wondered. In the book, the images come together in conversation, relating to each other, finding their connections. While laying out the book, I would witness how certain photos would find each other, moments that were captured long ago effortlessly find comfort and strength in the company of a more recent experience. The connections between the photos are endless, and it was an incredible experience to sit with thousands of my images and find the conversation that was happening in the present moment- a conversation that wanted to be shared on a large scale.

It has always been my dream for someone to hold a book of my photos, and to be able to sit with it quietly, becoming absorbed in the connections within the images and finding her or his own connection within it as well. It’s a much different experience from focusing on a single image standing alone in a different context. It is the sacred intimacy and quietness of my experiences that I long to communicate with others, I want others to feel the same peace and connection I feel when I am in the sacred process of creation. I believe this is most effectively communicated through the intimate time spent sitting with a book. The stillness and sacredness of one’s meditation can touch the lives of others, I have learned. It is my hope that each individual who holds my book and spends time with it, is touched by the light and love that I experienced not only when the images were first captured, but while I was making the book.

The book-making ritual was truly a ceremonial experience for me. I devoted my life to its creation for two months, and let my entire home evolve into a temple dedicated to the creation of Water in the Desert. It was my every waking moment, my nourishment, my meditation, my pulse, my light. It was a sacred, transformative journey, and it took me to places I was unprepared for. I birthed this book with the most sacred of intentions, light and love woven into each and every page. Now that it is complete, I am forever changed. It is an honor to offer a tangible object to the world that truly holds my heart and spirit….

On the new website you will discover a selected archive of my work to explore, which I will continue to add to, and a shop to purchase the book and a selection of prints….

MORE: http://www.angeladelaagua.com/

About jay babcock

JT Homesteader, Arthur Magazine ... Joshua Tree, CA ...
This entry was posted in humans and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

